lowering 4wd frame questions

Discussion in 'Suspension/Chassis' started by JLC, Apr 15, 2013.

1. JLC

JLC Member

Truck:
    90 Std. Cab short bed (T-Bag)
    Hello all,
    I have another project in the works I am building a AWD race truck and have some questions about lowering the 4wd frame to basically stock 2wd ride height and was wondering what I would have to do in order to accomplish this. Im new to lowering and want to try and avoid having large blocks in the rear as its going to be a race truck.
    I figured what better way to gain knowledge about this than ask the best.
    The truck will be tube chassis and fiberglass everything else but the cab shell its self.
    Any and all input is appreciated
    Thank you

2. HOSHPOSH

HOSHPOSH Enthusiast

Truck:
    83' Hilux(sold), 88' Fordyota(sold), 79' Hilux(sold)
    I contemplated lowering my 4wd frame extra cab since it had a 302 in it. But after thinking of all the work it would take I gave up and sold it. For the rear you would have to get a 2wd axle or weld plates to mount the leaf springs under axle not over axle. For the front you would have to weld in a 2wd front clip or fabricate the front yourself end and raise the crossmember.

But, if you are doing a full one off tube chassis I would recommend doing independent front and rear suspension with coilovers, fabricating the front and rear diff's in somehow. Also consider diffs and axles from cars that already have upper and lower arms instead of a solid axle.

Or just body drop it and throw some street wheels on and get rig of the big ol 31x10.5's for some 196/50's :)

3. JLC

JLC Member

Truck:
    I forgot to mention I am planning on an ls1 under the hood and running 1/4 mile so dont need cornering I am debating between a solid front axle or ifs set up because dont know if the ifs would stand up to an awd launch/power. I know that I can run supra difs in the front and rear which will be helical.