Lets do this together! Fan Forum Rebuild

Discussion in '1984-1988 Pickup Discussion' started by Leonard Maloux, May 16, 2020.

?

What size rim and tire should I start with?

1. 15

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  2. 16

6 vote(s)
    60.0%
  3. 17

2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  4. 18

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  1. Leonard Maloux

Leonard Maloux Newbie

1987 Toyota Pickup - side view.jpg Hello Everyone
    I hope all is well considering the current position we are all in. I have recently purchased a 1987 2wd Toyota Pickup, 5 speed, 2.5 with a 126,000 miles. I am looking to have some fun with the rebuild. I am not a mechanic and would rate my mechanic skills as zero on a 1-10 scale. However, I do enjoy the process of building something from nothing and the close knit comradery of the auto restoration community and even more the Mini Truck and Toyota communities. I do have a look that I would like to go with, However, I am completely open minded to input to getting this project moving. I have attached a picture of the truck where it has been sitting for 5 years. My first goal is to get it running. I will be changing the oil, spark plugs to start. I noticed there is some liquid all over the transmission. I am assuming the seals in the transmission have cracked possibly.

I also need tires and rims. There is not a matching set and it currently has 2 flat tires on 14 inch steel rims. I would like to lower the truck but definitely want a smooth ride not feeling bumps every time I take it for a drive.

I would also like to mention, I want to stay with a minimum budget and can be creative on getting used parts when necessary. As of now I could use some advice on rims. I like the older style rims, black steal rims, or even the older mustang rims. I know that finding the right size can be an issue. I look forward to your replies and will keep everyone updated. For now please feel free to send some replies with the rim size and style. Thank you.

2. jetas

jetas Grand Toyotaholic

Truck: