Disc swap in progress

Discussion in 'Pre-1975 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by THorn, Apr 10, 2021.

1. THorn

THorn Member

Truck:
    1974 Hilux
    A54D986B-B377-4742-AD8B-CE70CA3321AF.jpeg 3502E68A-E9C5-468D-8B34-AF327C2882F2.jpeg 977FD28A-CDCF-4A93-8F62-50E76AC3D0CE.jpeg OK, let me preface this by saying that I am not a professional auto mechanic. For a living, I work on bicycles and houses alternately. I’ve always enjoyed puttering around and tinkering with my elderly cars, but it’s always been with completely stock equipment. I can usually figure out how to get stuff to work that’s been designed to work right, but all the custom fabrication in this project has been a whole new thing.

So... I thought it would be fun and educational to take on this insanely modified 74 Hilux. I got it just after it had a 5vz engine slapped into it, many compatibility issues unsolved. I’ll save the details of that for another thread. Anyhow, with that much HP, I felt like it would be cool to have disc brakes, so I gathered up some parts per the recommendations I’ve found floating around here and elsewhere and had a go at it.

I got a pair of 77 steering knuckles, hubs, tie rod links, etc from a kind soul on here who shipped them to me. I ordered new/remanufactured rotors, calipers, rear cylinders, hoses, and more. I opted to use the 79-83 master cylinder and booster because they fit with the least modifications. I chose to keep the stock rims for now because I’m really in love with my original center caps. I compensated for the interference with the caliper by using an 8mm spacer, so that the wheels would still be a little bit hubcentric, and bought the rest of the clearance by shaving a couple more mm off of the high spot inside the rims. I intend to score some 75-77 rims soon, but the nearest option requires a 12 hour round trip, so for now it’s spacers.