1976 Toyota Hilux SR5

Discussion in '1976-1983 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by Danica, Sep 17, 2018.

1. Danica

Danica Newbie

Truck:
    1976 Toyota Hilux SR5 Shortbed
    Hi all, just got myself a 1976 Toyota SR5. Everything is all stock from the engine to the suspension. I really want my truck to go lower and look slammed, but in need of some help and advise. Also, I am thinking of swapping out the oem carburetor with a Weber carb from LCE..any feedback on this? and possibly what I need to do with the engine (camshaft size, headers, etc.) in order for me to do this? I'm pretty new to this so please bare with me. Hope to hear some feedback's and advice.

1.jpg 2.jpg 4.jpg 10.jpg

2. jetas

jetas Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    72.5 Hilux
    Looks like its a clean truck

Be aware, if you have emmisions testing the weber may not pass a visual. Otherwise, swapping a Weber on is just that, no other mods necessary

3. nottoshabi

nottoshabi Enthusiast

Damn that is clean. Nice truck. I have lowered (slammed) my truck 5" in the rear and 3.5" in the front. You can read all about it here. The pic links are broken but I go into a lot of detail of parts and what to do. I also recommend changing all ball joints, pit arms and steering box while your in there. Mine had a lot of play in it when I bought it so I needed to change them.

jetas likes this.
  4. Danica

Danica Newbie

Truck:
    Thank you..and no emissions testing from my area..what size weber would you recommend as a daily driver?

5. Danica

Danica Newbie

Truck:
    Thank you!! I'll definitely read into your thread. You guys are awesome!

6. jetas

jetas Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    72.5 Hilux
    Most people do the 32/36. Got it on mine, seems fine

7. Danica

Danica Newbie

Truck:
    I guess I'll make mine a 32/36. I've been watching a built on IG as well. Check out @orangeluxx he has an awesome 1975 built.

8. nottoshabi

nottoshabi Enthusiast

do you have a part number? and what type of filter?