Coolant leak. New 88 Toyota owner looking for help.

Discussion in 'Engine/Drivetrain' started by Jason H, Oct 28, 2013.

1. Jason H

Jason H Newbie

Truck:
    88 Toyota Pickup
    Hello all,

This is my first post here! I recently acquired a 1988 Toyota Pickup and am just starting to get to know it. The first thing I'm trying to do is track down/understand a coolant leak (it also leaks oil) on the 22re. I should probably also say I am new to working on engines, not just the 22re. I have the Haynes manual, but not the factory service manual (yet).

So here's is a picture of where I think the leak is coming from (at the timing cover gasket). I first noticed coolant on the oil pan and traced it up to this spot. In the picture, the A/C and its bracket are removed. If I clean this area (marked with the red arrow) it will start to get wet in that spot within about 10 minutes.

[​IMG]

I don't understand exactly what's going on behind that timing cover. Is there a coolant passage there? Is this a plausible spot for coolant to leak?

Also, this engine was rebuilt about 20k ago by Poteat's Engine Rebuilding in Kannapolis, North Carolina (have the receipt from previous owner). The previous owner also said he replaced the timing chain himself (not sure why). So I'm wondering if something about the timing chain replacement didn't go right.

Thanks for any advice!

2. Malessohomegrown

Malessohomegrown Toyotaholic

Truck:
    87Hilux,92Hilux reg,914x4 HiluxEC
    The water pump is directly above your problem area so yes that would be the source or your leak.I would just replace all the necessary gaskets to fix that.It's a good idea to replace the head gasket and oil pan gaskets because you will need to pull the head off and the timing cover also comes in contact with the front part of the oil pan gasket.You will get an idea if you need to change the timing chain and guides when you get in there.Good luck.if you have any questions pm me.

3. Jason H

Jason H Newbie

Truck: