Autocross beater

Discussion in '1989-1995 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by White Trash, Sep 30, 2013.

1. White Trash

White Trash Toyotaholic

Truck:
    89 auto cross beater
    So I swapped an 84 4x parts truck straight across for a running driving 90 short/standard 2x. :D

It was pretty stock with some sweet hubcaps and about the most craptastic exhaust I've ever owned.

This was the day it came home.

[​IMG]

The next day things changed a bit. I've been hoarding a stash of 3rd gen parts for a couple years so now I get to use some of them. I slapped the 4x front end on there and installed the tilt column with delay wipers and steering wheel disconnect from my old wheeler.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

In talking with some friends that have been into autocross for a number of years it was decided that I'll build this rig for the "challenge" class which has no rule constraints as to what you can do and is time only.

I have a DOM cage already bent up so now I need to pull the front inner fenders and gut the bed so it's only the bed sides. I've got a fuel cell to put behind the axle with the battery next to it. I've got a stash of urethane bushings, heims and threaded bungs to build a set of truck arms ala nascar and panhard bar.

The truck has brand new rotors and calipers that will get put on the rear when I gather the parts for crown vic front brakes. I've got a large V6 booster another set of stainless lines to go on too.

As for engine mods I'll leave it alone till it proves to be a limiting factor. It has plenty of gitty up for now with a 32/36 weber and header backed by some crappy piping with a flowmaster. I scored in that it has a 4 speed with an 8" diff and 3.07's. I've got 4.10's open and welded along with a 4.56 V6 diff that will get a supra limited slip once I source one for cheap. It's also running manual steering and I adjusted the slop out of it so it's very precise and turns saweet!

I'm stoked to get this build under way. :D

Last edited: Sep 30, 2013