'93 Toyota 2X4 Reg. Cab "landscaping" pickup.

Discussion in '1989-1995 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by 93_Toy_Mini, May 22, 2013.

1. 93_Toy_Mini

93_Toy_Mini Addict

Truck:
    93 Reg Cab Pickup
    Couldn't figure out how to fix the picture links so I am doing it over again...

Original Post Date 01/06/2012

Hi, I am new to TM and I wanted to put some pix up of my build. I bought this truck in 2011 and I have made it a point to try to do this on a budget. I bought it from a man that said he used it for "landscaping" while I was living in Roseville, CA. That is in the Sac Metro area. The guy wanted $1000 for it and said it was sound. I was a vehicle mechanic in the Air Force and a graduate of Universal Technical Institute and I have worked as a salesman before so I know my cars. I know what he had and it was abused but wasn't unrepairable. I bought it for $600 cash. It was supposed to be my daily driver while I fixed up another project but that project was sold because I lost interest in that one. The truck needed less work money wise to make it streetable and I did not want to be driving a hoopdee. So a month after I bought it I gutted it out because it smelled like mildew and had black mold on it not to mention about an 1/8 to a 1/4 inch layer of dust, dirt and animal hair all over it. Every bare metal piece was covered in rust. I spent my spare time online and at wreaking yards in Rancho Cordova, Rocklin and Antelope CA. I could go to. I also found a retired mechanic in Loomis, CA. that has 8 or 9 of them at his huge house. He likes buying them and using several to make one good one. I aquired lots of things from him that I could not find and he has LOTS AND TONS OF THINGS at his house. Its all about making connections. So the following is pictures of what I have so far but I never took pictures of what it looked like before I started. I didn't really pay any attention to the truck at first because it was just supposed to be a beater.