'76 Hilux Fishin' truck

Discussion in '1976-1983 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by Barnacles, Apr 11, 2013.

1. Barnacles

Barnacles Enthusiast

Truck:
    89 Hilux - 3VZE
    I just bought my first Toyota truck last week. It's a 1976 Hilux with 5-speed transmission and 20R engine. I just joined the site and at first I just wanted to throw you all some pictures to show you what I'm working with, but I figured making a build thread is just as well and that way it will be easy to see the progress as I work. I’ll go ahead and throw it out there that I have no experience with Toyotas and can be considered a novice when it comes to working on autos in general. I also don't intend to spend a fortune on this project. Having said that, I’m not an idiot and I'm pretty stubborn - so I have that going for me.

Some backstory...

I have been itching to score a sweet little truck for fishing, hauling dirt, and whatever messy job I can think of. My wife and I have a Subaru for going interstate, so the truck didn't need to be too fancy. What I ended up with is definitely on the less fancy end of the spectrum.

I rescued the truck from some guys that were running some sort of garage business through a somewhat questionable title exchange, but it all worked out in the end. The truck has clearly been neglected for several years judging by the body and engine bay. Dirt and rust everywhere, a half dozen holes drilled in each door, broken plastic bits, and some decidedly dank carpeting covering the floor and seats inside. However, as a bonus the previous owner included an oil spill and a half-sack of kitty litter spread about the bed!